Flushing out a clogged heater core on a 1998 Jeep Wrangler!!!!!!

First I was blessed by God just to be able to wake up to the start off a wonderful day.  I started it off by of course being on the computer a  bit, then I went outside and drained the decorative pond in the front flower bed.  I then burnt some CD’s for my nephew.  While checking to see if my heater core in my Jeep Wrangler was clogged for I found out it was.  Then searching for a video on how to change out the Heater Core in an a Jeep Wrangler, I found a video that shows you how to unclog a heater core,  I am going to try this tomorrow.   See the heater core is not leaking, it’s just not blowing out hot air.

  1. First you take loose the inflow and outflow hoses loose from the heater core at the thermostat.  (The inflow would be the hottest of the the two hoses after running and warming up the vehicle.)
  2. Then you take a chuck for an air compressor and wrap electrical tape around the threaded part so it will fit in the outflow of the heater core hose. (On my Jeep Wrangler, the top hose got the hottest so it’s the Inflow hose)
  3. Place the intake hose in a gallon jug or something to catch the gunk that pushs from the heater core when you ad air pressure to it.
  4. You then put a chemical in the heater core and let it set a few minutes.  (The chemical can be bleach, CLR or anything that will eat away the gunk that has the heater core clogged.)
  5. Then you flush the chemical out of the heater core for about three or four times.  (It’s best to use air pressure to flush at first to give it enough push to come out, but be carful and shield yourself from what ever chemical you used when you add the air pressure to the hose.  If the clog is a little stubborn, when it breaks loose, this chemical can go everywhere.)
  6. After this, you run the engine until it’s at top temperature and drive the vehicle around so that you can  get the anti-freeze flow through the heater core.  (Of course you want to add any anti-freeze/coolant that may have been lost prior to going for a drive.)
  7. The video I saw said to find a place and floor the vehicle so as to make sure the anti-freeze/coolant gets to the heater core.  This is also added pressure for any possible clogs you could have missed.  ( just remember to be safe.  It would be best to open it up on a short section of highway. )
  8. Lastly check to see if there is heat coming from the heater.  If so, you saved yourself a lot of work and a little bit of money.  Good Job!

I will most likely use a combination of bleach of dish soap to try to break free the clog  and I will let it set longer than what was suggested.  This has been like this for over a year and a half, so I know it’s clogged good.  I just hope my initial 190 PSI is enough initial pressure to break free the clog.  We will see here in a little bit.   I hope after church.  I would really like to go this Sunday since I haven’t been in awhile.  I have to give this a try.  If you don’t get the heater core unclogged, then there is nothing left but changing it out and this requires removal of the dash and steering well to get the heater box out.  That sounds like a long day to me.

In closing, I hope this helps someone out there like myself.  I had searched for a couple days prior to finding this video so it was no easy find.  I thank Eric that put the video on and give him all the credit for the above information minus the few safety tips I gave since I seen the video for myself.  The link for the they video is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dcL_0TWeZJY .  I hope and pray that this works for me.  I also hope it helps someone out there.  It can be a cold ride in Ohio winters without heat.  Thanks for reading and God Bless.

This morning I did what the video said to my 1998 Jeep Wrangler.  When I first put the pressure on the heater core, a medium sized chunk of something came out of the hose.  I added bleach to the heater core by holding the hoses above the heater core and pouring it in the hose.  Then I added hot water and let it sit for about 15 minutes and added pressure to the heater core again until nothing else but air came out.  I rinsed the heater core about three times with water and air pressure, connected the hoses back to the thermostat housing, topped off the radiator and started the Jeep.  Within 10 minutes I had the hottest air blowing out of the defroster.  By doing this, I saved over 100 bucks and a head ache of a job.  I thanked God several times for having this work.  We are going to try it on my son’s 1986 Buick.  I will let you know the outcome of that when we try it.


3 responses to “Flushing out a clogged heater core on a 1998 Jeep Wrangler!!!!!!

  1. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read something like this before. So good to seek out any individual with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is one thing that’s wanted on the web, someone with just a little originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  2. I enjoy your comment, have you considered adding and RSS feed feature? That will allow me to get automatic updates of new topics. If you set up notifications via RSS, please email me! I will bookmark your design for now. Again Excellent topic!

Leave a Reply

